British Curry Awards 2009. The Results

The British Curry Awards 2009 ceremony was held at Battersea Park’s Evolution on Tuesday 3rd November 2009 in front of more than 1,600 guests.

The ceremony host was hosted Sir Trevor McDonald with the main guest being David Cameron, leader of the Conservative Party.

This was the 5th annual award ceremony and there were a record number of nominations received for the awards.

The restaurants were judged on food quality, service and ambience. The judges said that the standards were higher than before and the nine regional winners were:

Scotland / Northern Ireland: Cinnamon, Aberdeen.

North East: Aagrah, Garforth, Leeds.

North West: Indian Ocean, Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancashire.

Midlands: Lasan, Birmingham.

Wales: Bokhara Brasserie, Bridgend.

South East: Jaipur, Milton Keynes.

South West: Rajpoot, Bath.

London Central & City: Bombay Brasserie, London SW7.

London Suburbs: Brilliant Restaurant, Southall.

In addition to the regional awards for best restaurants, there were new awards this year.

The “Newcomer of the Year Award”, for restaurants that have been open for less than three years, was given to London’s Cinnamon Kitchen & Anise restaurant.

The “Best Casual Dining Award” went to London’s Tayyabs restaurant.

The “Personality of the Year Award” went to Anjum Anand and a “Recognition for Catering Award” went to Sanjay Anand of Madhu’s.

(Visited 108 time, 1 visit today)